Skip to content

The sun also.

December 1, 2011

Have you ever read The Sun Also Rises? Did you like it?

I’ll let you in on a little secret: I didn’t finish it. Why? I stopped liking it! Is it blasphemous of me to admit I MIGHT not like Ernest “big man” Hemingway’s writing?I just got so bored. Maybe it was the time I was reading it,or the context or situation or something.

Photo taken with my BlackBerry: what fabulous image quality!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 3:46 pm

    I’m Hem’s fan but I know there is nothing worse and more ruining than forcing a book onto a person. I’m Russian and at school we had to read a lot of Pushkin, that famous Russian author, and although it was years ago I still hate his books.
    I guess it’s OK if you don’t like this book, or if you don’t like any other book. Later in life I met another teacher who told me that you wouldn’t like a book until it’s written about you. Life always changes so one day you hate a book, a year later you love it ( it didn’t happen with me and Pushkin, though, LOL )

    About the photo – that’s amazing! I really liked it. I knew what the post would be about the moment I saw its title and the image of the book.

    As for your question – yes, I loved the book, probably because I could recognize so many people in it.

  2. December 1, 2011 4:05 pm

    I feel like its one of those books you need to read at a certain point in your life to appreciate.

    I read A Moveable Feast and enjoyed it so naturally, I thought I would like this one. And I did, but I didn’t LOVE it.
    Oh well, I got a good picture out of it πŸ™‚

    • December 1, 2011 4:23 pm

      Oh yes, I loved a Moveable Feast so much! In a way I wasn’t able to enjoy anything else that much afterwards, neither by Hemingway nor by any other author.

      I think it’s true, there is a right time for any book.

      • December 1, 2011 9:30 pm

        You’ll be happy to know I just read the book list for one of my classes next semester and one of the required readings is… The Sun Also Rises…

        I cannot escape Hemingway haha!

Leave a Reply

