Skip to content

Things I learned

January 3, 2012

I stumbled upon this recipe a while ago and wanted to try it over the holidays. So last night, I took out all my cooking equipment and began creating Hamantashen, a Yiddish pasty recognizable for its three-cornered shape and is usually eaten during the Jewish holiday of Purim.

Two things: I am not Jewish and it is not Purim, but that didn’t stop me from making them!

So what did I learn?

  • Well for starters, when the recipe says the dough will be a tad sticky, it will be, and you will want to stock up on a lot of flour to sprinkle over hands/rolling pin/counter top/pasty when it starts bunching everywhere.
  • I also learned that your first batch probably wont look very good because, hey! Its your first time making Hantashen and folding dough into a triangle is A LOT harder than it sounds.
  • This leads into my final point: when cutting out the dough for the triangle, roll it thin: this way you will get a nicer looking trinagle and something less than a blob of pastry dough when its fully cooked.

Verdict: they might have turned out less than what I’d expected, but tasted great!

EDIT: I realize that if you type in “Hamantashen” into Google it comes up as a typo- there are numerous ways to spell it and I just chose this one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

